What is it about Dingoes?

Welcome all to my first official Blog Post.  And what better subject to start my blogging than Dingoes.  If anyone knows of my work, they will know I have a love for these beautiful animals and that transfers into my paintings as probably my favorite subject.  I love the challenge of trying to get that special Dingo gaze into their eyes and I always feel extremely happy and satisfied once I have finished a piece and he’s looking back at me with that renown intelligence.

I saw my first Fraser Island Dingo around 28 years ago and have loved them ever since.   We went on a camping trip over to the island as most Australians do, if not at least many Queenslanders would of been there.  It is such a special and unique place with so much natural beauty it astounds you and the added bonus of seeing many healthy, happy Dingoes around the island made it that much more special.

These were the days when there was plenty of food on the island for them, everyone interacted along side them as it should be.   The small town of Eurong pretty much had its own Dingo that would welcome visitors and generally just hang out around the town which gave tourists plenty of photo opportunities.  Unfortunately as the tourism inclined, so too did the problems with the Dingoes.  There have been many wrong decisions along with some right decisions by our government regarding how to manage the growing tourist population while keeping the Dingoes best interest at heart.  This has always been a much heated ongoing debate among locals and government.  I have no idea how to solve it and will leave that up to the experts but I will say that as an Australian who loves Fraser Island and its native occupants I believe we can still live along side these guys as we used to, with the powers that be learning from the mistakes they have made with the island management, stricter penalties for tourists who don’t respect the Dingoes or the island and take advice from the indigenous people of this sacred place.

Misunderstood
Misunderstood

I painted my first Dingo (Misunderstood) ‘Who’s the real threat’ around 3 years ago now when I was first introduced to Soft Pastels. I had just completed a short course on Pastel Painting with Artist  David Wells   which opened my eyes up to this wonderful medium.

I just seemed to take to it perfectly, it suits my style of drawing and I don’t have to clean up anything (yay)  or set up anything, If I have a spare 10 minutes I can just go and work on it for the entire 10 minutes.  I have a busy schedule so this is perfect for me.

I had heard about an Art Competition held by WABA in Canberra, the theme was ‘threatened species’ and I had seen a photo of a particular Fraser Island Dingo on the internet by Black Hat Photography and I knew immediately that I wanted to draw it for this contest, with Craig’s permission to use his photo as a reference I knew it would be the perfect fit for the brief and what better way to spread the word, that these guys get a bad wrap and maybe we are the real threat.

If you look closely at this guys eyes you can see the image of a 4 wheel drive vehicle reflected back, which symbolizes ‘human’ and all the problems they bring to the island with them.misunderstood-copy  As this was only the 2nd large pastel piece I had done, I was hesitant to enter but with encouragement from friends and family I did.  You can imagine how thrilled I was when I got a call from WABA to tell me I had won best use of Media as well as they had sold my painting along with some prints.  I was hooked, I new I had found my medium and have happily stuck with it for the last  3 years and am happy to say I have now painted 6 Dingo Portraits and they have all sold within a week of being finished.

So my advice is to keep at it and try many and varied mediums and I guarantee when you find the one you are meant to work with you will know straight away, everything will just click.  Now I am not saying it is easy, each of my works has around 80 hours involved, but you will happily spend that time perfecting each piece when you find the medium you just love to work with.

For those who would fullsizerenderlike to read more about the Fraser Island Dingoes, you can go to     Save the Fraser Island Dingo and find out all about them.  I love trying to donate to these guys when I can because they really are making a difference and they only have the Dingo and Islands best interest at heart.

I hope you all have enjoyed this little insight into why I paint Dingoes (A LOT haha) and if you have any questions make sure to leave me a comment.  I’d love to know if anyone else has been over to Fraser and what your thoughts are on the Dingoes.

 

Enjoy your week

Kerri xx

 

 

 

 

Author: Kerri Dixon

Australian Wildlife Artist

One thought on “What is it about Dingoes?”

  1. Well Kerri, let me be the 1st to make a comment.
    I personally think everyone should visit Fraser island , at least once in their life, but not in the school holidays.
    After seeing the massive invasion of tourists this past week, I feared what would happen to the dingoes.
    I hear the Govt want to push the tourist visits to the Island upto 750,000 pa.
    I think that is insane, and proves they are only interested in the $$$ and not the preservation of the Island and the iconic dingo now heading towards extinction. There has been too much Govt interference into the management of the dingoes and not in the management of tourists.
    Now back to your natural gift of pastel paintings.
    I was 1st introduced to pastel paintings by Jennifer Parkhurst and I bought 2 of her dingo ones.
    So when I become a bit more financial I’d like you to do a painting of one of my 18 dingoes.
    I love the way you make them appear so lifelike.
    I have the only colony of captive bred Fraser Island Dingoes in Aust, so when you have a spare day or so, please find your way here and allow yourself to connect to one of them.
    It will be worth the experience, and you can also try to feed them without fear of being fined. 😉
    Hooroo
    Simon
    Minister for Dingoes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

